n ï m

Mareike Wiening

Brooklyn based drummer, composer and bandleader Mareike Wiening has distinguished herself bringing “a planar modulating harmonic language and a propulsive drift” (New York Times) to the most compelling jazz music of today.

Ms. Wiening’s first album was described as “thoroughly modern, progressive jazz, Mareike Wiening’s debut album Crosswalk has many layers that unfold with each repeated hearing; she will most definitely become a leading part of the jazz scene in the years to come.” (All About Jazz)

Her new CD “Metropolis Paradise”, which was recorded as the last session at the legendary Systems Two Recording Studio, will be released in 2019.

 Wiening has performed with artists throughout the United States, Europe and South America. She has appeared with John Zorn’s COBRA, German Jazz Youth Orchestra and multiple Off-Broadway Shows. Wiening has worked with renowned musicians such as Rich Perry, Stefon Harris, Dan Tepfer, Dayna Stephens, Fabian Almazan, Johannes Enders, Lutz Häfner, Florian Weber, Adrien Mears, among others.

Currently performing with Sasha Berliner at major US festivals such as Atlanta Jazz Fesitval and Winter Jazzfest NYC, Ms. Wiening is also an in demand side-woman in the New York jazz scene. Venues such as Cornelia Street Café, The Jazz Gallery, Blue Note NYC, German Consulate, Carnegie Hall, Unterfahrt Munich, Bird’s Eye Basel and Birdland Neuburg are only a few of her regular performance places.

Mareike Wiening is fortunate to endorse cymbals from German company MEINL who’s supporting her since 2015. A native German, Ms. Wiening received her bachelor of music degree from the University of Performing Arts Mannheim and the Rhythmic Conservatory of Music Copenhagen. She received her master of music degree from the University of Performing Arts Mannheim and New York University.

Ms. Wiening attended the Banff International Jazzworkshop and the International Annual Jazz Meeting with musical director Dave Liebman in Sao Paul, Brazil. She studied with Stefon Harris, Michael Küttner, Tony Moreno, Guillermo Klein, Henry Cole, Marilyn Mazur, among others.